Biffy Clyro – Balance, Not Symmetry (OST) – Album Review

There was plenty of intrigue and excitement last month when Biffy Clyro dropped their latest album from out of the blue.

The reason for so little warning is that Balance, Not Symmetry is actually the official soundtrack to the movie of the same name.

That only added to my intrigue, in truth. Over the years there have been some truly sensational movie scores, but how would the wacky Scottish Rockers fare?

Momentum is always a huge thing in an album for me, and it’s for that exact reason that Balance, Not Symmetry proved a bit of a let down sadly.

A good album will keep you hooked from the first song to the very last. It doesn’t have to be in your face heavy song after heavy song, but I need every song to keep me hooked, to keep me interested and to make me want to continue listening.

But of the 17 tracks (including instrumentals) on this album, Biffy only managed to keep my attention for the opening four songs. After that the best way of describing it is forgettable. When listening to an album you should never find it as easy to zone out as this album allowed.

The title track opens proceedings and is without doubt the stand-out of the album. Unlike the majority of the offering, this is much like the Scottish trio that we all know and love, but it’s telling that it’s the album’s peak in song one.

Different Kind of Love is the other major stand-out, which some fans will know from the recent Unplugged album and tour, of which Ready To Rock were fortunate to be present for in Manchester (incredible gig!).

I must admit the album conflicted me. I tried to enjoy it because I love Biffy so much. And there’s still elements of the band throughout – even in the songs that are not Biffy-sounding at all. I tried to tell myself that it was just Biffy showing a different side to themselves, which is all well and good but it still must be enjoyable, and I just don’t feel this release is, save for the first four songs.

The aforementioned unplugged album and tour is proof that I’ve no issue with an attempt at changing things up, but there just felt like little momentum and even less passion with this. What are Biffy Clyro if not for that raw Scottish energy!?

The final track Adored sums it up for me. It’s as bland as bland could be. Simon Neil has proven often in the past he’s capable of slowing things down and still sounding fantastic – God and Satan is one of my favourite songs by the band! – but in Adored even he sounds bored. It’s just so dull and surprisingly so flat.

The one saving grace that I can at least fall back on is the fact that this is a movie soundtrack and therefore I can maybe get away with classing this as being closer to a B-side release than an official album. That’s how I’m going to have to classify it in my mind just to try and forget it and not let it tarnish my love for Biffy Clyro. Although, in their defence further still, all the best long-life bands have at least one album they’d rather forget.

55157

If ever I needed any justification in not liking the album I only had to imagine myself at a live show. I’d actually quite like to see them drop Balance, Not Symmetry in to a few setlists going forward, while Different Kind of Love wouldn’t bother me either. Beyond that, there’s absolutely nothing on this album I’d have any desire to hear live.

Sadly, this just wasn’t a great album from the usually superb Biffy Clyro. But I’ll cut them some slack because it’s a movie soundtrack and the songs will have to fit the film. As a stand-alone album though, it’s one to forget.

3/10

Leave a comment